flares


fireworks
snap as gum
irritate
they smile
oooh
ahh and wow

i see only
trails left on darkening skies
grey and stretching
web and cloud

i am misery
i am boredom
i am not
so
patriotic
these days

i am lost hope
i am longing unquenched
and noncreative
dismal
celebration

legs dangle
off the dock
shorts too short
tshirt rising
i think of water spiders
mosquitoes and
the deep sliver in my foot

fireworks
snap as gum
irritate

i see lovers and children
aged and wide-eyed
youth and yearning
amazed by a simple
explosion of light and colour

taste this longing
hate its effectiveness
amuse myself
picture nuclear bombs
in every explosion of
colour and hope

“you realize,”
come my sarcastic innards,
“that if I were a terrorist
I’d pick any firework occasion
to move my explosives?”

“God, you’re miserable,”
he says,
fingers lacing tight into my belt
“and if you were a terrorist
I would volunteer for
whatever your cause”

I smile
arch my back
just so
lick my lips
lightly
purr softly
stretch my leg slowly
open
turn my shoulder
ever so slightly

“God, you’re easily amused,”

shortly
he forgets to look overhead
captured
blinded
by some stronger
light

I smile
aware
that Misery
can flash her colours
create a disturbance
of its own

after all their lights have died
sparklers burned out
city’s budget for
light and mirrors
shiny objects

Misery lingers
flares
burns slow
and lingering
amused
as hope returns

About this entry